Adding users, admins, agents to Helprace

There are various roles you can assign to your team members to help you support your customers. Your customers are also part of this spectrum, too, as they play a pivotal role in interacting with your tickets, using your knowledge base and community.

Before we get started, let's take a look at what each of the user roles mean.

Role & Description Can add / block Long description

Owner
Holder of your Helprace account

Owners
Admins
Agents
Users

An account owner is the "king" of your Helprace account. The Owner is usually the person who created the account. The owner has access to areas of Helprace that other team members do not, such as billing information, invoicing and payment options. The Owner can add additional Owners.

Admin
Manages your Helprace account

Agents
Users

Admins are just below the Owner in the hierarchy and otherwise have full control over all aspects of your Helprace. Admins, however cannot access billing. Admins are able to set ticket rules and access all settings.

Agent
Your customer support staff

Users

Agents are ordinary customer service support staff. They are able to interact with customers to answer questions, resolve tickets and create knowledge base articles.

User
Your customer or site visitor

 

Users are customers and site visitors that interact with your Helprace. Users can participate in communities, submit tickets and track their requests. They do not have any administrative priveleges in Helprace.

Follow these steps to add a user

  1. Log in to the Admin Panel as an admin
  2. Click the People button on the main menu
  3. Click the Add Users button



  4. Here you just need to type user's email, select a role and click "Invite".

     

    In the example above, an admin is adding an agent. Agents get invited just like users and need to confirm invitations the same way.

    If you're an agent, you will not see the option to select a role, since you can only add people with the user role.

  5. An invitation email will be sent to the user. The user will display the Invited badge on the People page until he or she takes action to confirm the invitation.



  6. The user needs to click the link within the email to accept the invitation. That will remove the Invited status. You might have noticed a green circle with an S. This identifies staff members, i.e. agents, admins and owners.



  7. The newly added agent can now update his profile with an avatar, company and his own name, etc.

 

Tip: Please note that you do not have to invite new users manually every time. They can sign up by themselves or login via social accounts (e.g. Facebook, Google, or Twitter).

Tip: Those who sign up by themselves are assigned the user role by default. Admins and the owner can change this role if needed.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 2 found this helpful